Hurry, item low in stock!

Nancy Wilson - Yesterday's Love Songs/Today's Blues

Number of Discs
Release Date
Nancy Wilson
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Blue Note


Hurry! Only 2 in Stock
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

Originally released in December of 1963, Yesterday's Love Songs/Today's Blues was the eighth in a long series of albums Nancy Wilson was to make for Capitol Records over a period of 20 years. During that time, she became one of the label's most artistically and commercially successful artists. The album was also made during the time when major recording companies were turning out sessions featuring black female singers with a gospel and/or blues background, singing standards and pop hits backed by a large orchestra, usually with strings. Columbia Records had Aretha Franklin, Everest used Gloria Lynne, and Capitol, Nancy Wilson. Here, teamed with the Gerald Wilson Orchestra and his arrangements, Wilson wends her way through 17 standards and traditional pop songs with a good balance between ballads and up-tempo numbers. Wilson's aggregation is loaded with many of the day's top West Coast players. Trumpeters Al Porcino and Carmell Jones are especially prominent, with Jones soloing on "The Song Is You." Harold Land's tenor provides the backdrop for "Satin Doll." On the last four tracks, Wilson is accompanied by just a rhythm section featuring Wild Bill Davis on organ and Joe Pass on guitar. Wilson and Davis combine to do a swinging R&B-tinged "West Coast Blues" and "My Sweet Thing," the album's highlights. In between these two cuts is the cloying "Tell Me the Truth," originally issued on a 45 EP and aimed at the female teenaged market of the time. ~ Dave Nathan

1) The Song Is You (01:58)
2) The Very Thought of You (02:51)
3) Satin Doll (02:21)
4) Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered (03:02)
5) Sufferin' With the Blues (02:10)
6) Someone to Watch over Me (02:31)
7) The Best Is Yet to Come (02:18)
8) Never Let Me Go (02:29)
9) Send Me Yesterday (02:12)
10) All My Tomorrows (02:40)
11) Please Send Me Someone to Love (02:33)
12) Blue Prelude (02:53)
13) What Are You Doing New Year's Eve? (02:23)
14) Show Goes On (02:48)
15) West Coast Blues (02:01)
16) Tell Me the Truth (02:34)
17) My Sweet Thing (02:21)

Yesterday's Love Songs/Today's Blues
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Yesterday's Love Songs/Today's Blues | Nancy Wilson