Hurry, item low in stock!

Michael Daves - Orchids and Violence

Hurry only 1 in stock!
FREE Shipping on All Orders
Number of Discs
Release Date
Michael Daves
CD / Album
Label / Studio

2016 two CD set. Both discs are produced by Daves and have identical track listing of mostly traditional bluegrass songs. The first features straightforward interpretations of them and was recorded live to tape in a 19th-century church by Daves and a band of roots-music innovators: bassist Mike Bub, violinist Brittany Haas, mandolinist Sarah Jarosz, and banjo player and Punch Brother Noam Pikelny. The second disc was recorded in Daves's home studio and includes bass, drums, and electric guitar, mostly played by Daves, and takes a raw, experimental rock approach to the same old-time material. Both discs were mixed by Vance Powell (Jack White, Kings of Leon, Danger Mouse) and have a special guest appearance from Tony Trischka on cello banjo, and Daves' wife Jessi Carter played bass on the electric disc.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...
Here's what you say about
Michael Daves - Orchids and Violence.

1) June Apple (Bluegrass)
2) The Dirt That You Throw (Bluegrass)
3) Darling Corey (Bluegrass)
4) Elzic's Farewell (Bluegrass)
5) A Good Year for the Roses (Bluegrass)
6) Drunken Hiccups (Bluegrass)
7) Stargazer (Bluegrass)
8) Dark Angel (Bluegrass)
9) The 28th of January (Bluegrass)
10) I Only Exist (Bluegrass)
11) Pretty Polly (Bluegrass)
12) Train on the Island (Bluegrass)
13) June Apple (Electric)
14) The Dirt That You Throw (Electric)
15) Darling Corey (Electric)
16) Elzic's Farewell (Electric)
17) A Good Year for the Roses (Electric)
18) Drunken Hiccups (Electric)
19) Stargazer (Electric)
20) Dark Angel (Electric)
21) The 28th of January (Electric)
22) I Only Exist (Electric)
23) Pretty Polly (Electric)
24) Train on the Island (Electric)

Orchids and Violence
Main Format
Keyword Index
Orchids and Violence | Michael Daves