Elvis Costello - The Very Best of Elvis Costello

Number of Discs
Release Date
Elvis Costello
CD / Album
Label / Studio


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the DecluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

Elvis Costello seems to have an aversion to presenting his work in a logical, comprehensive fashion, if the double-disc The Very Best of Elvis Costello is any indication. Like its predecessor, Girls Girls Girls, it sprawls over two discs, with very little regard to chronology or style, baffling and enticing listeners in equal measure. Although there are certainly some terrific songs missing, it's hard to argue with much of what's here (with the notable exception of the cuts here to lure in collectors -- the Charles Aznavour cover of "She," first heard in Notting Hill, and a version of "That Day Is Done," recorded with the Fairfield Four, featured on their 1997 album). So, as a reasonably thorough, albeit scattershot, overview, this works pretty well, since the music itself is good, even if it doesn't make sense when presented in this fashion (if it was intended to illustrate Costello's stylistic sweep, it winds up as counterproductive, since it's confusing in this fashion, not enticing). Still, the curious will prefer the single-disc sampler, The Very Best of Elvis Costello and the Attractions, since it's not only more concise, it illustrates Costello's depth and range equally well. And if you want to dig deeper after hearing that, the original albums are worth any fan's time. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Disc 1:
1) (What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love and Understanding? (03:31)
2) Oliver's Army (02:57)
3) Watching the Detectives (03:43)
4) Alison (03:21)
5) (I Don't Want to Go to) Chelsea (03:07)
6) Accidents Will Happen (03:01)
7) Pump It Up (03:13)
8) I Can't Stand Up for Falling Down (02:05)
9) Radio, Radio (03:06)
10) Clubland (03:43)
11) A Good Year for the Roses (03:05)
12) Man Out of Time (05:25)
13) I Wanna Be Loved (04:46)
14) Everyday I Write the Book (03:52)
15) Brilliant Mistake (03:41)
16) The Other Side of Summer (03:53)
17) Tokyo Storm Warning (06:23)
18) Sulky Girl (05:04)
19) So Like Candy (04:35)
20) Veronica (03:07)
21) She (03:05)

Disc 2:
1) Big Tears (03:10)
2) Beyond Belief (02:33)
3) Lipstick Vogue (03:31)
4) Green Shirt (02:44)
5) Pills and Soap (03:43)
6) Tramp the Dirt Down (05:41)
7) Shipbuilding (04:51)
8) High Fidelity (02:28)
9) New Lace Sleeves (03:47)
10) (The Angels Wanna Wear My) Red Shoes (02:46)
11) Talking in the Dark (01:57)
12) New Amsterdam (02:13)
13) I Hope You're Happy Now (03:07)
14) Riot Act (03:34)
15) My Funny Valentine (01:29)
16) Indoor Fireworks (04:09)
17) Almost Blue (02:49)
18) I Want You (06:43)
19) God Give Me Strength (06:10)
20) That Day Is Done (05:10)
21) I Want to Vanish (03:14)

The Very Best of Elvis Costello
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
The Very Best of Elvis Costello | Elvis Costello