Curtis Mayfield - The Very Best of Curtis Mayfield [Rhino]

Number of Discs
Release Date
Curtis Mayfield
CD / Album
Label / Studio


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the DecluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

Rhino's The Very Best of Curtis Mayfield is devoted to material the legendary soul man recorded after leaving the Impressions, focusing particularly on his classic songs from the early '70s. There are more comprehensive compilations on the market, namely the sublime double-disc Anthology and the flawed but worthwhile box set People Get Ready, but this is the best bet for anyone wanting a concise sampler of Mayfield's groundbreaking funk-soul, since it contains all of the bare-bone essentials: "(Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below, We're All Going to Go," "Move on Up," "We Got to Have Peace," "Freddie's Dead," "Superfly," "Pusherman," "Future Shock," and "Kung Fu." Yes, Mayfield also made cohesive, frequently stunning albums during this era and his work with the Impressions was just as influential, but this disc benefits from its narrow focus, since the end result is a collection ideal for the curious and the novice, while also providing a great listen for anyone who already knows the records. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1) (Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below, We're All Going to Go - Curtis Mayfield (07:52)
2) The Makings of You - Curtis Mayfield (03:45)
3) Move on Up - Curtis Mayfield (08:56)
4) Get Down - Curtis Mayfield (03:53)
5) We Got to Have Peace - Curtis Mayfield (04:46)
6) Freddie's Dead - Curtis Mayfield (03:19)
7) Superfly - Curtis Mayfield (03:55)
8) Pusherman - Curtis Mayfield (05:03)
9) Future Shock - Curtis Mayfield (03:38)
10) Can't Say Nothin' - Curtis Mayfield (03:39)
11) Kung Fu - Curtis Mayfield (03:51)
12) So in Love - Curtis Mayfield (05:14)
13) Only You Babe - Curtis Mayfield (04:23)
14) Do Do Wap Is Strong in Here - Curtis Mayfield (03:34)
15) Between You Baby and Me - Linda Clifford / Curtis Mayfield (04:45)
16) Do Be Down - Curtis Mayfield (04:08)

The Very Best of Curtis Mayfield [Rhino]
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
The Very Best of Curtis Mayfield [Rhino] | Curtis Mayfield