Hurry, item low in stock!

Carla Thomas - The Queen Alone****

Hurry only 1 in stock!
FREE Shipping on All Orders
Number of Discs
Release Date
Carla Thomas
CD / Album
Label / Studio
JDC Records

Originally issued in May, 1967. Carla Thomas was more than deserving of her title "The Queen of Memphis Soul," but she was hardly oblivious to the sleeker, more pop-influenced sweet soul and uptown soul coming out of Detroit, Philadelphia and Chicago. One of her strongest albums, The Queen Alone isn't the work of someone who took a Memphis-only approach, but of someone who was well aware of what Gladys Knight, Dionne Warwick, Martha Reeves and others were up to. What's surprising is the fact that this album contains only two hits: the playful "Something Good (Is Going to Happen to You)," which made it to number 29 on Billboard's soul singles chart, and the idealistic, gospel-influenced ballad and number 11 R&B single "I'll Always Have Faith in You." Songs ranging from the sweet and vulnerable "I Want to Be Your Baby" to the remorseful "All I See Is You" and the pessimistic "Any Day Now" (a song co-written by Burt Bacharach) weren't singles, but it wasn't for a lack of heartfelt singing.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...
Here's what you say about
Carla Thomas - The Queen Alone****.

1) Any Day Now
2) Stop Thief
3) I Take It to My Baby
4) I Want to Be Your Baby
5) Something Good (Is Going to Happen to You)
6) When Tomorrow Comes
7) I'll Always Have Faith in You
8) All I See Is You
9) Unchanging Love
10) Give Me Enough (To Keep Me Going)
11) Lie to Keep Me from Crying
12) Bonus Track) Me and My Clock - (Previously Unreleased
13) Bonus Track) Same Thing - (Previously Unreleased
14) Alternate Take Bonus Track) Your Love Indeed - (Previously Unreleased
15) Take 2 Bonus Track) I Want to Know - (Previously Unreleased
16) I Wonder About Love - (Bonus Track)

The Queen Alone****
Main Format
Keyword Index
The Queen Alone**** | Carla Thomas