Hurry, item low in stock!

Blondie - The Platinum Collection

Number of Discs
Release Date
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Chrysalis Records


Hurry! Only 1 in Stock
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

The Platinum Collection reigns as Blondie's finest compilation, outshining The Best of Blondie in overall quality and quantity. This fine retrospective covers every U.S. and U.K. A- and B-side on two discs while adding unreleased material and club remixes as bonuses at the finale. Opening with the poppy, yet venomous, first U.K. single, "X Offender," disc one reveals Blondie's liveliest and most ambitious efforts as they merge their punk, reggae, and roots rock influences into what would soon be considered new wave. While Blondie is generally known for their charting singles, the spectacular B-sides/album tracks, including the dazzling space rocker "Fade Away and Radiate" and the punk/synth pop hybrid "Contact in Red Square," are equally essential. Disc two recalls some of the band's most accessible singles including "The Tide Is High," "Call Me," and "Rapture," which became the first Top Ten single to contain a rap vocal. Despite the excellent material represented so far, the second half unfortunately fails to sustain the momentum. Marked by selections from Blondie's 1982 swan song The Hunter, four 1975 demos, and two 1994 remixes, the rest of the disc suffers from poor sequencing and inferior selections. The terrible, unnecessary remixes of "Atomic" and "Rapture" and ho-hum demos would only appeal to collectors. Nonetheless, the demo "Once I Had a Love" would eventually receive a disco makeover and evolve into the international chart-topper "Heart of Glass" three years later. Ultimately, fans may prefer the distinguished single edits for "Heart of Glass" and "The Tide Is High" over the album versions, and yet despite all revealed shortcomings, The Platinum Collection provides more music per dollar spent compared to other Blondie releases. In addition, the compilation's colorful liner notes include insightful song commentary by most of Blondie, single and album information, and a descriptive family tree. ~ Jacob N. Lunders

Disc 1:
1) X Offender
2) In the Flesh
3) Man Overboard
4) Rip Her to Shreds
5) Denis
6) Contact in Red Square
7) Kung Fu Girls
8) I'm on E
9) Presence, Dear, (I'm Always Touched by Your)
10) Poets Problem
11) Detroit 442
12) Picture This
13) Fade Away and Radiate
14) I'm Gonna Love You Too
15) Just Go Away
16) Hanging on the Telephone
17) Will Anything Happen
18) Heart of Glass
19) Rifle Range
20) 11:59
21) Sunday Girl
22) I Know But I Don't Know
23) One Way or Another
24) Dreaming
25) Sound-a-Sleep
26) Living in the Real World

Disc 2:
1) Union City Blue (03:19)
2) The Hardest Part (03:40)
3) Atomic (03:49)
4) Die Young Stay Pretty (03:32)
5) Slow Motion (03:26)
6) Call Me (03:32)
7) The Tide Is High (03:53)
8) Susie and Jeffrey (04:08)
9) Rapture (04:58)
10) Walk Like Me (03:49)
11) Island of Lost Souls (03:49)
12) Dragonfly (05:58)
13) War Child (04:00)
14) Little Caesar (03:01)
15) Out in the Streets (02:21)
16) Platinum Blonde (02:18)
17) The Thin Line (02:27)
18) Puerto Rico (02:07)
19) Once I Had a Love (03:57)
20) Atomic (04:02)
21) Rapture (04:22)

The Platinum Collection
EMI Music Distribution
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
The Platinum Collection | Blondie