Various Artists - Testament Records Sampler

Number of Discs
Release Date
Various Artists
CD / Album
Label / Studio


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the DecluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

This covers the story of Pete Welding's Testament blues label (now being brought to compact disc via Hightone Records), inspired by Delmark Records and driven by a desire just to get great blues recordings onto the market. This story is told both in this 23-track CD sampler and in the liner notes by Welding, who explains that he didn't care, when he started the label, whether or not it was commercially successful -- his job paid well enough. Testament proceeded to release a stream of amazing blues and R&B albums over the years, ranging from an anthology of Southern black fife and drum bands all the way to roaring electric blues that'll set fire to the hair in your ears. This sampler is 72 minutes of amazing selections from 23 different albums, and if you're a blues fan unfamiliar with Testament's CD releases, it may very well present a danger to your bank account. The sampler itself is priced cheaply enough to present a temptation, and you should let yourself be tempted. ~ Steven McDonald

1) Pet Cream Man - J.B. Hutto & The Hawks (02:44)
2) A Man for the Nation - John Lee Granderson (03:05)
3) Railroad Blues - Chicago String Band (03:00)
4) Nobody Knows My Toubles - Otis Spann (03:23)
5) Jesus on the Mainline - Hunter's Chapel Singers / Mississippi Fred McDowell / Fred McDowell & The Hunter's Chapel Singers (02:11)
6) Peach Tree Blues - Eddie Taylor (02:38)
7) I'm Talking 'Bout You - Eddie Lee "Mustright" Jones (01:25)
8) Cat Squirrel - Doctor Ross (04:08)
9) I'm Gettin' Tired - Robert Nighthawk (03:51)
10) Goin' Back to Texas - Erwin Helfer / Jimmy Walker / Jimmy Walker & His Western Stars (03:02)
11) Black Mary - Ruby McCoy (03:07)
12) So Cold in Vietnam - Johnny Shines (03:15)
13) Titanic Blues - Bill Jackson (03:36)
14) Don't Start Me to Talkin' - Johnny Turner (04:00)
15) All My Money Gone - Johnny Young (03:00)
16) One Thin Dime - Blind Connie Williams (02:17)
17) Goin' Down South - Mississippi Fred McDowell (03:08)
18) I'm Going to Detroit - Big John Wrencher (02:57)
19) Annie Mae - Big Joe Williams (03:56)
20) My Babe - Napoleon Strickland (04:38)
21) Hoodoo Snake Doctor Blues - Johnny Shines (03:07)
22) Dust My Broom - John Littlejohn (03:44)
23) Pleading and Crying - Billy Boy Arnold (02:31)

Testament Records Sampler
City Hall
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Testament Records Sampler | Various Artists