Charlie Hunter Quartet - Songs from the Analog Playground

Number of Discs
Release Date
Charlie Hunter Quartet
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Blue Note


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the DecluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

Charlie Hunter's seventh Blue Note release is the first to feature vocalists -- Theryl De'Clouet, Kurt Elling, Norah Jones, and rapper Mos Def -- who appear in rotating guest spots. Five of the 13 tracks are instrumental originals. Some meander in a typical jam band way, but they're guided by an economical, live-quartet sound and driven by Hunter's highly intriguing eight-string guitar work. The short solo guitar piece "Sunday Morning" is a tease, but also a gem. De'Clouet's gravelly, soulful voice fits nicely on Earth, Wind & Fire's "Mighty, Mighty" and the Willie Dixon blues classic "Spoonful"; his control of harmonic overtones on the latter is astounding. Labelmate Norah Jones lends her breezy, laid-back vibe to Roxy Music's "More Than This" and Nick Drake's "Day Is Done." Mos Def kibbitzes on the opening "Street Sounds" and turns in a respectable singing performance on the sultry, minor-key "Creole." Kurt Elling, also a labelmate, is impeccably smooth on a percussion/vocal interpretation of "Close Your Eyes," a standard that served as the title track of the singer's Blue Note release of 1995. Elling also sings and does spoken word on "Desert Way" (co-written with Hunter), helping to distinguish it as the most ambitious track on the disc. Hunter's fiercely eclectic tastes have been evident on previous releases, but the presence of the vocalists enables him to establish connections and tell stories he never has before. ~ David R. Adler

1) Street Sounds - Charlie Hunter Quartet / Mos Def (02:32)
2) Rhythm Music Rides Again - Charlie Hunter Quartet (05:58)
3) Mighty Mighty - Theryl DeClouet / Charlie Hunter Quartet (03:50)
4) Mitch Better Have My Bunny - Charlie Hunter Quartet (06:11)
5) More Than This - Charlie Hunter Quartet / Norah Jones (04:10)
6) Desert Way - Kurt Elling / Charlie Hunter Quartet (06:01)
7) Run for It - Charlie Hunter Quartet (07:54)
8) Spoonful - Theryl DeClouet / Charlie Hunter Quartet (05:06)
9) Close Your Eyes - Kurt Elling / Charlie Hunter Quartet (01:37)
10) Percussion Shuffle - Charlie Hunter Quartet (05:48)
11) Creole - Charlie Hunter Quartet / Mos Def (05:42)
12) Sunday Morning - Charlie Hunter Quartet (01:17)
13) Day Is Done - Charlie Hunter Quartet / Norah Jones (04:36)

Songs from the Analog Playground
EMI Music Distribution
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Songs from the Analog Playground | Charlie Hunter Quartet