Quarteto Jobim Morelenbaum - Quarteto Jobim Morelenbaum

Number of Discs
Release Date
Quarteto Jobim Morelenbaum
CD / Album
Label / Studio


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the DecluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

The Jobim in Quarteto Jobim-Morelenbaum isn't the late Antonio Carlos Jobim, who was rightly exalted as "The George Gershwin of Brazil" and wrote such well known standards as "Wave," "The Girl from Ipanema," "Chega de Saudade (No More Blues)," "One Note Samba," and "Triste." However, this Brazilian foursome does boast two of Jobim's relatives, including his son Paulo and his grandson Daniel. With Paulo on guitar and vocals, Daniel on piano and vocals, Paula Morelenbaum on vocals, and Jacques Morelenbaum on cello, Quarteto Jobim-Morelenbaum provides an enjoyable, if conventional, bossa nova CD that isn't unlike the recordings that João and Astrud Gilberto, Stan Getz, Charlie Byrd, and others provided in the early '60s. You won't find a lot of surprises on this tribute to Antonio Carlos Jobim -- "Corcovado," "Desafinado," "Agua de Beber," and "Waters of March" are standards that jazz and Brazilian pop artists have recorded countless times over the years, and Quarteto Jobim-Morelenbaum doesn't bring anything new or out of the ordinary to them. The most chance-taking track is Paolo's "Mantiqueira Range," a jazz instrumental that gives Jaques a chance to let loose on cello. Nonetheless, this is a pleasant and sincere tribute, if a generally predictable one; but because Paula and Daniel sing with such soul and charisma, you're inclined to be forgiving. These artists have a lot of talent; hopefully, they'll take more chances on future albums. ~ Alex Henderson

1) Agua de Beber - Quarteto Jobim-Morelenbaum (02:37)
2) Meditation (Meditação) - Quarteto Jobim-Morelenbaum (04:29)
3) Ela é Carioca - Antônio Carlos Jobim (03:00)
4) Só Tinha de Ser Com Você - Quarteto Jobim-Morelenbaum (03:54)
5) A Felicidade - Quarteto Jobim-Morelenbaum (05:03)
6) Eu E O Meu Amor/Lamento No Morro - Quarteto Jobim-Morelenbaum (04:08)
7) Falando de Amor - Quarteto Jobim-Morelenbaum (04:06)
8) A Correnteza - Quarteto Jobim-Morelenbaum (02:52)
9) O Boto - Quarteto Jobim-Morelenbaum (04:40)
10) Mantiqueira Range - Quarteto Jobim-Morelenbaum (02:58)
11) Corcovado - Quarteto Jobim-Morelenbaum (04:25)
12) Desafinado - Quarteto Jobim-Morelenbaum (04:26)
13) Águas de Março (Waters of March) - Quarteto Jobim-Morelenbaum (03:01)

Quarteto Jobim Morelenbaum
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Quarteto Jobim Morelenbaum | Quarteto Jobim Morelenbaum