Various Artists - Putumayo Presents: Brazilian Lounge

Number of Discs
Release Date
Various Artists
CD / Album
Label / Studio


FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

Wonderfully slick, urban Brazilian music fills this CD from start to finish. The works are essentially what one would expect as ambient background music in a documentary on modern Rio, but the sound indeed goes past that somewhat. The basic format for much of it is electronica meets samba or bossa, but excellently executed. There are hints of something more adventurous now and then, but in truth it's not often the aim of lounge music to be adventurous as much as it is to be simultaneously relaxed and grooving. Standout tracks on the album include a remix of Bebel Gilberto's "August Day Song" by King Britt, a short vocal performance by Seu Jorge over the top of a funky cut from BiD, and the new bossa cut of Paula Morelenbaum that harks back directly to the work of Jobim and de Moraes, but with a tight little cut of drum'n'bass added in. A highly consistent album, rarely leaving the realm of the key groove. ~ Adam Greenberg

1) Brigas Nunca Mais - Paula Morelenbaum (03:24)
2) Meu Esquema - Mundo Livre S/A (04:21)
3) Há Dias - Luca Mundaca (03:50)
4) Previsão - Bossacucanova / Adriana Calcanhotto / Culcanhotto, Adrianna (03:02)
5) Água de Côco - Marcos Valle (04:48)
6) Mariana - Bia / Bïa (03:14)
7) Parece Mentira - Kátia B (03:38)
8) E Depois... - Bid / Bid Fred Rollercoaster / Seu Jorge (03:49)
9) August Day Song - Bebel Gilberto (04:07)
10) Como Vou Fazer - Mariana DeMoraes / Dois Irmãos / Irmãos, Dois (04:42)
11) Os Grilos - Marcela (03:07)
12) Saudade Fez Um Samba - Marissa (02:56)

Putumayo Presents: Brazilian Lounge
E1 Distribution
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Putumayo Presents: Brazilian Lounge | Various Artists