Hurry, item low in stock!

Hazel Dickens - Pioneering Women of Bluegrass

Hurry only 1 in stock!
FREE Shipping on All Orders
Number of Discs
Release Date
Hazel Dickens
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Smithsonian Folkways

When Hazel Dickens and Alice Gerrard recorded these songs in the mid-1960s, bluegrass music was dominated by male performers. They selected their favorite songs and arranged them for a stellar group of sidemen-bluegrass legends Lamar Grier, Chubby Wise, David Grisman, and Billy Baker. Their widely admired performances made them role models for future generations of women in bluegrass. The 26 tracks have been remastered, resequenced, and newly annotated by the performers themselves. Includes Long Black Veil, the One I Love Is Gone, and I Hear a Sweet Voice Calling. "Hazel and Alice blast out vintage bluegrass-country soundsongs with fierce, raucous energy." -Time Magazine.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...
Here's what you say about
Hazel Dickens - Pioneering Women of Bluegrass.

1) TB Blues (Or They're at Rest Together)
2) The One I Love Is Gone
3) Who's That Knocking?
4) Walkin' in My Sleep
5) Won't You Come and Sing for Me?
6) Can't You Hear Me Calling
7) Darling Nellie Across the Sea
8) Coal Miner's Blues
9) Sugar Tree Stomp
10) Train on the Island
11) Cowboy Jim
12) Lee Highway Blues
13) Memories of Mother and Dad
14) Long Black Veil
15) Gonna Lay Down My Old Guitar
16) Difficult Run
17) Mommy Please Stay Home with Me
18) Gabriel's Call
19) Just Another Broken Heart
20) A Distant Land to Roam
21) John Henry
22) I Just Got Wise
23) Lover's Return
24) A Tiny Broken Heart
25) Take Me Back to Tulsa
26) I Hear a Sweet Voice Calling

Pioneering Women of Bluegrass
Main Format
Keyword Index
Pioneering Women of Bluegrass | Hazel Dickens