Hurry, item low in stock!

Ralph Sutton - Oh Baby: Solo Piano

Hurry only 1 in stock!
FREE Shipping on All Orders
Number of Discs
Release Date
Ralph Sutton
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Sackville Records

These are amongst the earliest of pianist Ralph Sutton's solo recordings. The first fifteen selections come from a session in San Francisco in 1949 originally issued on Down Home Records. Even less known are the final eight tracks recorded in London in 1952 and originally issued on the Lyragon label. At the time, Sutton was performing as a jazz concert artist, but still found time to put down on wax these brief interpretations of material he was to rework through his long career. The highlights include three Willie "The Lion" Smith compositions - "Concentratin'" and "Morning Air" remained staples of Sutton's repertoire, but his version here of "No Local Stops" may well be it's only recorded performance.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...
Here's what you say about
Ralph Sutton - Oh Baby: Solo Piano.

1) Down Home Rag
2) Harlem Drag
3) Jelly Roll Blues
4) Cannon Ball Blues
5) Black Bottom Stomp
6) Cataract Rag
7) Shoe Shine Boy
8) Christopher Columbus
9) Hindustan
10) Villain
11) Frog Legs Rag
12) Chromatic Rag
13) Grace and Beauty
14) Cascades
15) Black and White Rag
16) Three Little Words
17) No Local Stops
18) Oh Baby
19) Concentrating
20) Drop Me Off in Harlem
21) Morning Air
22) Blues for Chuck
23) African Ripples

Oh Baby: Solo Piano
Main Format
Keyword Index
Oh Baby: Solo Piano | Ralph Sutton