Hurry, item low in stock!

Aretha Franklin - Great American Songbook

Hurry only 1 in stock!
FREE Shipping on All Orders
Number of Discs
Release Date
Aretha Franklin
CD / Album
Label / Studio

2011 marks the 50th anniversary of Aretha Franklin's signing with Columbia Records. Legacy Recordings will commemorate this momentous occasion with a series of releases, including THE GREAT AMERICAN SONGBOOK. Aretha Franklin is a legend of soul music, and indeed of American pop as a whole. More than any other performer, she epitomized soul at it's most gospel-charged. Her astonishing run of late-60s hits earned her the title "Queen of Soul," which she has worn uncontested ever since. With these songs by America's greatest composers, Aretha Franklin paved the path to her own greatness. From standards to bebop to gospel and blues, these recordings are indelible snapshots of a special time in the career of a musical legend; a portrait of the artist as a young woman. This stand-alone CD features classic American songs by such classic American composers and lyricists as Billy Strayhorn, Cole Porter, Irving Berlin, the Gershwin Brothers, Oscar Hammerstein, Johnny Mercer, Jerome Kern and Hank Williams.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...
Here's what you say about
Aretha Franklin - Great American Songbook.

1) My Little Brown Book
2) Trouble in Mind
3) Try a Little Tenderness
4) It Ain't Necessarily So
5) How Deep Is the Ocean
6) Cold Cold Heart
7) Love for Sale
8) How Glad I Am
9) Skylark
10) This Bitter Earth
11) Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive
12) What a Diff'rence a Day Made
13) Only the Lonely
14) Rock-A-Bye Your Baby with a Dixie Melody
15) God Bless the Child
16) Say It Isn't So
17) Are You Sure
18) That Lucky Old Sun

Great American Songbook
Main Format
Keyword Index
Great American Songbook | Aretha Franklin