Hurry, item low in stock!

Various Artists - The Concord Jazz Heritage Series Sampler

Number of Discs
Release Date
Various Artists
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Concord Jazz


Hurry! Only 1 in Stock
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

Now around long enough to have developed an extensive back catalog, Concord started to mine it with a Jazz Heritage series of reissues in 1998 -- of which this generously packed two-disc sampler provides an excerpt from each album. As such, the double set provides a good, even at times unpredictable overview of the label during the (label founder) Carl Jefferson years, during which the mainstream of jazz from swing to bop, with sidetrips into Latin territory, was carefully nurtured until it became fashionable again to worship tradition. Older artists were given a comfortable home there, and this series clearly tilts in their direction. A few Concord mainstays at one time or another are left out -- where are Dave Brubeck, Howard Alden, Susannah McCorkle, Emily Remler, and Phil Woods? -- but they are probably awaiting further installments. 29 headliners in all are covered; one critic's choice of highlights would include the Great Guitars' swinging multi-pronged attack on "Lover," and Rob McConnell's sophisticated brass voicings in "4 B.C.," Barney Kessel's gently driving "I'm On My Way" with surprising (for Concord) backing on electric piano and electric bass, Cal Tjader's ingratiating live "Doxy," Gene Harris' self-explanatory "Old Funky Gene's," and Jim Hall's experimental electronic environment on "All Across the City" (another anomaly for Concord). Sketchy personnel at best, no dates, but the music-making is an enticing come-on for the series. ~ Richard S. Ginell

Disc 1:
1) Airegin - Tito Puente (04:14)
2) Lover - Great Guitars (05:27)
3) Born to Be Blue - Mel Tormé (05:06)
4) B.C. - Rob McConnell & the Boss Brass (07:46)
5) Te Amo - Laurindo Almeida (02:39)
6) Some of These Days - Scott Hamilton (06:36)
7) Meet Me With Your Black Drawers On - Jeannie Cheatham / Jimmy Cheatham (07:28)
8) I'm on My Way - Barney Kessel (04:18)
9) Here's Carl - Ruby Braff (03:35)
10) Sly Mongoose - Monty Alexander (03:57)
11) Doxy - Cal Tjader (07:05)
12) Sunbeam & Thundercloud - Dave McKenna (04:45)
13) I'll Be Seeing You - Rosemary Clooney (04:16)
14) Waltz for Claudia - George Shearing (03:10)

Disc 2:
1) Second Thoughts - Art Blakey (08:34)
2) Someone Else Is Steppin' Out - Ernestine Anderson (04:45)
3) Look for the Silver Lining - Herb Ellis (04:43)
4) La Familia - Poncho Sanchez (04:54)
5) Old Funky Gene's - Gene Harris (06:21)
6) Lotus Blossom - Kenny Burrell (03:44)
7) Take the "A" Train - Frank Capp Juggernaut (03:21)
8) Rondo Expressivo - The L.A. 4 (04:40)
9) The Dolphin - Woody Herman (06:00)
10) The Real Blues - Ray Brown (07:22)
11) Bela Be Bela - Tania Maria (03:47)
12) Mama, I'll Be Home Someday - Charlie Byrd (02:05)
13) Threnody (A Lament) - Marian McPartland (03:17)
14) All Across the City - Jim Hall (05:25)
15) Our Manne Shelly - Louie Bellson (04:15)

The Concord Jazz Heritage Series Sampler
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
The Concord Jazz Heritage Series Sampler | Various Artists