Simon & Garfunkel - Live from New York City, 1967

Number of Discs
Release Date
Simon & Garfunkel
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Sbme Special Mkts.


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the DecluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

Recorded on January 22, 1967, at Lincoln Center in New York, four of these 19 songs were on the 1997 Old Friends box set, but the rest were unissued until the 2002 appearance of this release. The duo performs acoustically, without accompanists (as was usually the case in their concerts), on a fine-sounding and well-delivered set that doesn't contain any revelations, but is nonetheless an excellent document of their live work as they reached their prime. Certainly a Simon & Garfunkel fan could have hardly wished for a better song selection, as it features all the major hits and most of the best album tracks that the pair had recorded prior to 1967: "The Sound of Silence," "I Am a Rock," "Homeward Bound," "The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy)," "Richard Cory," "A Hazy Shade of Winter," "The Dangling Conversation," "Anji," and "For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her." Some of the more offbeat moments, however, lie in less-celebrated songs like "Leaves That Are Green," "Benedictus," and "He Was My Brother." Only two of the cuts, though, would qualify as relatively seldom-heard tunes: "A Church Is Burning," which Paul Simon put on his 1965 U.K.-only solo album but was not recorded for release by Simon & Garfunkel, and the uncommonly tough-minded "You Don't Know Where Your Interest Lies," which would be a 1967 non-LP B-side (of "Fakin' It"). Numerous live Simon & Garfunkel bootlegs had circulated before this release, so the pair's concert sound will not come as a shock to hardcore fans, but it's great to have a classy, above-board document of their live presence. ~ Richie Unterberger

1) He Was My Brother
2) Leaves That Are Green
3) Sparrow
4) Homeward Bound
5) You Don't Know Where Your Interest Lies
6) A Most Peculiar Man
7) The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy)
8) The Dangling Conversation
9) Richard Cory
10) A Hazy Shade of Winter
11) Benedictus
12) Blessed
13) A Poem on the Underground Wall
14) Anji
15) I Am a Rock
16) The Sound of Silence
17) For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her
18) A Church Is Burning
19) Wednesday Morning, 3 A.M.

Live from New York City, 1967
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Live from New York City, 1967 | Simon & Garfunkel