Blood Orange - Freetown Sound

3 in Stock
FREE Shipping on All Orders
Number of Discs
Release Date
Blood Orange
CD / Album
Label / Studio

For well over a decade, Devonté Hynes has proven himself a virtuoso of versatility, experimenting with almost every conceivable musical genre under a variety of monikers. After moving to New York City in the mid-2000s, Hynes became Blood Orange, plumming the oeuvres of the city's musical legends to create a singular style of urgent, delicate pop music. Freetown Sound, which follows 2011's Coastal Grooves and 2013's breakthrough Cupid Deluxe, builds upon everything Hynes has done as an artist, resulting in the most expansive artistic statement of his career. Drawing from a deep well of techniques and references, the album unspools like a piece of theater, evoking unexpected communions of moods, voices, and eras. Freetown Sound derives it's name from the birthplace of Hynes' father, the capital of Sierra Leone. Thematically, it is profoundly personal and unapologetically political, touching on issues of race, religion, sex, and sexism over 17 shimmering songs. Each song echoes into another, with leitmotifs carefully stitched throughout, yielding a sound palette that gently recalls elastic funk, slinky R&B, and pure pop, but resisting easy categorization.

We are Rated Excellent on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...
Here's what you say about
Blood Orange - Freetown Sound.

1) By Ourselves 2:12
2) Augustine 3:51
3) Chance 2:49
4) Best to You 3:46
5) With Him 1:26
6) E.V.P. 5:44
7) Love Ya 2:48
8) But You 3:01
9) Desirée 3:01
10) Hands Up 4:09
11) Hadron Collider 3:44
12) Squash Squash 3:37
13) Juicy 1-4 4:36
14) Better Than Me 3:17
15) Thank You 3:04
16) I Know 4:35
17) Better Numb 3:01

Freetown Sound
Main Format
Keyword Index
Freetown Sound | Blood Orange