Paul Wall - Fast Life



Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the decluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
Number of Discs
Release Date
Paul Wall
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Asylum / Swishahouse / Swishahouse/Asylum

Having launched his career with truck rumbling weekend numbers, Paul Wall learns on his third album that growing old gracefully is hard to do, especially when you're considered more a party starter than a wordsmith. Fast Life opens and closes with two epic and reflective numbers that are admirable enough, but they don't seem nearly as genuine as "Daddy Wasn't Home," the moving story of Wall's broken family and the one time the rapper's execution is right in step with his ambition. The drastic transition to the following bit of debauchery, "Pop One of These" with Too Short, points out the album's difficulty in blending Wall's good and bad sides, but the real problem here is with the plentiful B-plus material, which has no grand anchor of SwishaHouse perfection like "Sittin' Sidewayz" or "Break Em' Off" do. While the infectious "Lemon Drop" with Baby Bash would be better suited for Fergie, the tough "Bizzy Body" is close to being top shelf and ends up the "street" highlight of the album. Guest Z-Ro's cool tone is perfect for the ultra smooth "One Hundred," and there's little doubt "Got to Get It" will satisfy longtime Wall fans thanks to the gigantic bass production from producers Beanz & Kornbread. Even without the epic single, it is interesting to hear Wall's perspective shifting and his horizons expanding. ~ David Jeffries

1) I Need Mo - Kobe / Paul Wall (03:58)
2) Got to Get It - Paul Wall (04:36)
3) Bizzy Body - Mouse / Paul Wall / Webbie (04:16)
4) Lemon Drop - Baby Bash / Paul Wall (02:53)
5) Fly - Gorilla Zoe / Paul Wall / Yung Joc (03:55)
6) I Grind - Marty James / Paul Wall (04:10)
7) Daddy Wasn't Home - Paul Wall (04:54)
8) Pop One of These - Federation / Skinhead Rod / Top Short / Paul Wall (03:32)
9) One Hundred - Paul Wall / Yung Redd (03:16)
10) Pressin' Them Buttons - Lil' Keke / Trae / Paul Wall (03:47)
11) I'm Clean - Paul Wall (04:59)
12) Sumn' Like a Pimp - Krizz Kaliko / Tech N9NE / Paul Wall (05:28)
13) Look at Me Now - Paul Wall / Yung Chill (04:47)
14) I Grind - Paul Wall

Fast Life
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Fast Life | Paul Wall