Tams - Dancing Mood



Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the decluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
Number of Discs
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Ring of Stars

Perennial favorites of beach music fans, the Tams were a group who knew how to balance the sweet, smooth sounds of their harmonies and (mostly) upbeat material with the passionate grit of Joseph Pope's vocals, who had a knack for sounding emphatic without overstating the case. Masters of sweet soul with a Southern sense of laid-back enthusiasm, the Tams have been a phenomenon in Georgia and the Carolinas since the early '60s, and Dancing Mood pulls together a whopping 30 of their classic tracks, most of them dating from their early days with Arlen Records, but also including some important later material cut for ABC-Paramount and 1-2-3. While this collection suffers from less-than-attractive packaging, inadequate liner notes, and skimpy information on the where-and-when of the individual tracks, as a collection of the Tams at their best, Dancing Mood does the job quite well, chronicling both Pope's often lovelorn vocals as well as the sharp songwriting (often from Joe South) and imaginative arrangements that make these sides memorable. Sound quality varies from cut to cut, though most of it's quite good. The packing prevents this from being the definitive Tams disc, but Dancing Mood is still a far better-than-average summary of this classic group's big hits and worthy lesser-knowns. ~ Mark Deming

1) Untie Me (02:30)
2) Deep Inside Me (02:15)
3) If You're So Smart (Why Do You Have a Broken Heart) (02:14)
4) Blue Shadows (02:52)
5) Find Another Love (01:52)
6) Don't Ever Go (02:18)
7) You Lied to Your Daddy (02:13)
8) Do I Worry (02:13)
9) Close to Me (02:16)
10) Standing In (02:40)
11) Riding for a Fall (02:23)
12) Laugh It Off (02:41)
13) It's All Right (You're Just in Love) (02:14)
14) You'll Never Know (02:24)
15) You Might as Well Forget Him (02:51)
16) Dancing Mood (02:23)
17) It's All Right (02:58)
18) What Kind of Fool (Do You Think I Am) (02:03)
19) I've Been Hurt (02:16)
20) Be Young, Be Foolish, Be Happy (02:07)
21) Disillusioned (02:01)
22) Hey Girl Don't Bother Me (02:30)
23) Too Much Foolin' Around (02:33)
24) Trouble Maker (02:01)
25) Tell Your for the Last Time (02:57)
26) What Do You Do (When Your Lover Leaves You) (02:25)
27) My Baby Loves Me (01:44)
28) Unlove You (02:14)
29) Go Away Little Girl (02:44)
30) Making True Love (03:44)

Dancing Mood
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Dancing Mood | Tams