Doris Day w/ James Cagney - Love Me or Leave Me [Original Soundtrack]

Number of Discs
Release Date
Doris Day w/ James Cagney
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Legacy / Columbia


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the DecluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

Love Me or Leave Me was one of Doris Day's greatest, and least likely, successes. Coming out of a string of light movie musicals, she turned in a dramatic performance in this film biography of singer Ruth Etting. She looked nothing like Etting and made no attempt to sound like her, either. But since Etting's recordings of the 1920s and '30s were long out of print and she made only a few films, that was less of a problem than it would have been for a performer whose voice and appearance were better preserved and available. The film was a popular and critical success, but the soundtrack, consisting entirely of Day's renditions of Etting signature songs like the title tune and "Ten Cents Dance," plus a couple of newly written songs, was a blockbuster, spending months at the top of the charts and becoming far and away the best selling of the relatively new 12" LPs of 1955. Day was given a chance to sing something different from the novelty-dominated contemporary material and often second-rate screen songs she had been assigned up to this point, and she reveled in the opportunity. The 1993 reissue, the first release in true stereo, added three bonus tracks, two of which were previously unreleased alternate takes marred by buzzes and the third the Percy Faith-backed studio version of one of the film's new songs, Sammy Cahn and Nicholas Brodszky's "I'll Never Stop Loving You," which became a hit single for Day but had not previously appeared on the soundtrack. ~ William Ruhlmann

1) Overture (01:34)
2) It All Depends on You (02:02)
3) You Made Me Love You (02:29)
4) Stay on the Right Side, Sister (01:00)
5) Everybody Loves My Baby (01:11)
6) Mean to Me (02:12)
7) Sam, the Old Accordion Man (02:06)
8) Shaking the Blues Away (03:30)
9) (What Can I Say) After I Say I'm Sorry?/I Cried for You/My Blue Heaven (04:13)
10) I'll Never Stop Loving You (01:55)
11) Never Look Back (02:26)
12) At Sundown (01:31)
13) Love Me or Leave Me (02:14)
14) Fianle (00:19)
15) I'll Never Stop Loving You (03:03)
16) Ten Cents a Dance (01:57)
17) Love Me or Leave Me (03:11)

Love Me or Leave Me [Original Soundtrack]
Sony Music Distribution
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Love Me or Leave Me [Original Soundtrack] | Doris Day w/ James Cagney