The Clash - London Calling

Number of Discs
Release Date
The Clash
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Legacy / Epic


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the DecluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

Give 'Em Enough Rope, for all of its many attributes, was essentially a holding pattern for the Clash, but the double-album London Calling is a remarkable leap forward, incorporating the punk aesthetic into rock & roll mythology and roots music. Before, the Clash had experimented with reggae, but that was no preparation for the dizzying array of styles on London Calling. There's punk and reggae, but there's also rockabilly, ska, New Orleans R&B, pop, lounge jazz, and hard rock; and while the record isn't tied together by a specific theme, its eclecticism and anthemic punk function as a rallying call. While many of the songs -- particularly "London Calling," "Spanish Bombs," and "The Guns of Brixton" -- are explicitly political, by acknowledging no boundaries the music itself is political and revolutionary. But it is also invigorating, rocking harder and with more purpose than most albums, let alone double albums. Over the course of the record, Joe Strummer and Mick Jones (and Paul Simonon, who wrote "The Guns of Brixton") explore their familiar themes of working-class rebellion and antiestablishment rants, but they also tie them in to old rock & roll traditions and myths, whether it's rockabilly greasers or "Stagger Lee," as well as mavericks like doomed actor Montgomery Clift. The result is a stunning statement of purpose and one of the greatest rock & roll albums ever recorded. [In 2000 Columbia/Legacy reissued and remastered London Calling.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1) London Calling (03:19)
2) Brand New Cadillac (02:08)
3) Jimmy Jazz (03:54)
4) Hateful (02:44)
5) Rudie Can't Fail (03:29)
6) Spanish Bombs (03:18)
7) The Right Profile (03:54)
8) Lost in the Supermarket (03:47)
9) Clampdown (03:49)
10) The Guns of Brixton (03:09)
11) Wrong 'Em Boyo (03:10)
12) Death or Glory (03:55)
13) Koka Kola (01:47)
14) The Card Cheat (03:49)
15) Lover's Rock (04:03)
16) Four Horsemen (02:55)
17) I'm Not Down (03:06)
18) Revolution Rock (05:33)
19) Train in Vain (03:10)

London Calling
Sony Music Distribution
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
London Calling | The Clash