Original Broadway Cast - Les Misérables [Original Broadway Cast Recording]

Number of Discs
Release Date
Original Broadway Cast
CD / Album
Label / Studio


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the DecluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

Originally conceived as a simple recording production, Les Miserables evolved quickly into one of the premiere theater events of the 1980s. Theatrically on par with Phantom of the Opera, Les Mis is drawn from the Victor Hugo novel of the same name. The story chronicles the life of Jean Valjean, a simple Frenchman arrested as a youth for stealing a loaf of bread. After serving five years for that crime, as well as an additional 14 for attempted escape, Valjean is released on parole. Upon changing his name and eluding his parole officer, he becomes the surrogate father of a young girl and a Mayor as the French Revolution sets in. As the war rages, he finds that he cannot change the man he is. Les Miserables is typical of theater in the '80s, with extravagant effects and large, full-cast numbers. The beautiful score is full of emotion and humor, including such memorable and noteworthy songs as "Look Down," "Do You Hear the People Sing?," "Bring Him Home," "Empty Chairs at Empty Tables," and the ubiquitous "On My Own." The original Broadway cast recording contains some very fine performances, particularly by Colm Wilkinson (as Valjean) and Frances Ruffelle (as Eponine, the waif). The vocals on this recording are heavy on character, making it an interesting and entertaining listen. ~ Sarah Erlewine

Disc 1:
1) Overture/Work Song (03:33)
2) Valjean Arrested/Valjean Forgiven (01:52)
3) What Have I Done? (03:21)
4) At the End of the Day (04:43)
5) I Dreamed a Dream (04:13)
6) Lovely Ladies (03:50)
7) Who Am I? (02:49)
8) Come to Me (Fantine's Death) (02:48)
9) Confrontation (02:30)
10) Castle on a Cloud (01:40)
11) Master of the House (04:54)
12) The Thénardier Waltz of Treachery (02:59)
13) Look Down (02:55)
14) Stars (02:58)
15) Red and Black (04:31)
16) Do You Hear the People Sing? (02:06)

Disc 2:
1) In My Life (05:15)
2) A Heart Full of Love (02:22)
3) Plumet Attack (01:59)
4) One Day More! (03:29)
5) Upon These Stones (Building the Barricade) (02:09)
6) On My Own (04:11)
7) Upon These Stones (Building the Barricade) (02:27)
8) Javert at the Barricade/Little People/The First Attack (01:30)
9) A Little Fall of Rain (00:39)
10) Drink with Me (03:23)
11) Bring Him Home (02:39)
12) Dog Eats Dog (03:16)
13) Javert's Suicide (02:15)
14) Turning (03:30)
15) Empty Chairs at Empty Tables (02:04)
16) Wedding Chorale/Beggars at the Feast (03:00)
17) Finale (02:14)

Les Misérables [Original Broadway Cast Recording]
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Les Misérables [Original Broadway Cast Recording] | Original Broadway Cast