Hurry, item low in stock!
2for5 roundel used

Johnny Cash - God

Number of Discs
Release Date
Johnny Cash
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Columbia / Columbia/Legacy

$2.99 | 2 for $5

Hurry! Only 1 in Stock
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

God is the weakest of the thematic CD trilogy that Cash released simultaneously in the spring of 2000 (the others being Love and Murder). It's not that Cash himself necessarily feels less strongly about spiritual matters than he does about romance or violent death. Musically, however, Cash did not, generally speaking, paint as striking an oeuvre in the religious field as he did with those other subjects (not to mention with subjects other than love, god, or murder). The 16 songs, recorded between 1957 and 1996, are on the whole more glossily produced than those selected for the Love and Murder sets, and not as arresting. There are, of course, some excellent performances here, particularly the lone Sun track ("Belshazzar") and the 1962 LP cut "Were You There (When They Crucified My Lord)," sung with the Carter Family. There's also the chance to hear Cash cover songs not associated with his repertoire, such as "Swing Low, Sweet Chariot" and Kris Kristofferson's "Why Me." God is also available as part of the three-CD box set Love God Murder, comprised of thematic discs that are available together or separately. ~ Richie Unterberger

1) What on Earth Will You Do (For Heaven's Sake) - Johnny Cash (02:09)
2) My God Is Real - Johnny Cash (02:00)
3) It Was Jesus - Johnny Cash (02:05)
4) Why Me Lord? - Johnny Cash (02:22)
5) The Greatest Cowboy of Them All - Johnny Cash (03:57)
6) Redemption - Johnny Cash (03:04)
7) Great Speckled Bird - Johnny Cash (02:10)
8) The Old Account - Johnny Cash (02:25)
9) Swing Low, Sweet Chariot - Johnny Cash (01:52)
10) When He Comes - Johnny Cash (03:33)
11) The Kneeling Drunkard's Plea - Johnny Cash (02:32)
12) Were You There When They Crucified My Lord? - The Carter Family / Johnny Cash (03:54)
13) Man in White - Johnny Cash (05:33)
14) Belshazzar - Johnny Cash (02:25)
15) Oh, Bury Me Not (Introduction: A Cowboy's Prayer) - Johnny Cash (03:54)
16) Oh Come, Angel Band - The Carter Family / Johnny Cash (02:44)

Sony Music Distribution
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
God | Johnny Cash