2 for 8dollar used

Stan Getz/João Gilberto - Getz/Gilberto

Number of Discs
Release Date
Stan Getz/João Gilberto
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Polygram / Verve / Universal

$4.99 | 2 for $8

FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

One of the biggest-selling jazz albums of all time, not to mention bossa nova's finest moment, Getz/Gilberto trumped Jazz Samba by bringing two of bossa nova's greatest innovators -- guitarist/singer João Gilberto and composer/pianist Antonio Carlos Jobim -- to New York to record with Stan Getz. The results were magic. Ever since Jazz Samba, the jazz marketplace had been flooded with bossa nova albums, and the overexposure was beginning to make the music seem like a fad. Getz/Gilberto made bossa nova a permanent part of the jazz landscape not just with its unassailable beauty, but with one of the biggest smash hit singles in jazz history -- "The Girl From Ipanema," a Jobim classic sung by João's wife, Astrud Gilberto, who had never performed outside of her own home prior to the recording session. Beyond that, most of the Jobim songs recorded here also became standards of the genre -- "Corcovado" (which featured another vocal by Astrud), "So Danço Samba," "O Grande Amor," a new version of "Desafinado." With such uniformly brilliant material, it's no wonder the album was such a success but, even apart from that, the musicians all play with an effortless grace that's arguably the fullest expression of bossa nova's dreamy romanticism ever brought to American listeners. Getz himself has never been more lyrical, and Gilberto and Jobim pull off the harmonic and rhythmic sophistication of the songs with a warm, relaxed charm. This music has nearly universal appeal; it's one of those rare jazz records about which the purist elite and the buying public are in total agreement. Beyond essential. ~ Steve Huey

1) The Girl from Ipanema - Stan Getz / João Gilberto (05:24)
2) Doralice - Stan Getz / João Gilberto (02:46)
3) Para Machuchar Meu Coração (To Hurt My Heart) - Stan Getz / João Gilberto (05:05)
4) Desafinado - Stan Getz / João Gilberto (04:15)
5) Corcovado (Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars) - Stan Getz / João Gilberto (04:16)
6) So Danço Samba (I Only Dance Samba) - Stan Getz / João Gilberto (03:45)
7) O Grande Amor - Stan Getz / João Gilberto (05:27)
8) Vivo Sonhando (Dreamer) - Stan Getz / João Gilberto (03:04)
9) The Girl from Ipanema - Stan Getz (02:54)
10) Corcovado (Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars) - Stan Getz (02:20)

Universal Distribution
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Getz/Gilberto | Stan Getz/João Gilberto