Various Artists - Capitol from the Vaults, Vol. 1: The Birth of a Label 1942-1943

Number of Discs
Release Date
Various Artists
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Capitol/EMI Records / Capitol


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the DecluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

From the Vaults is a multi-disc series commemorating the 60th anniversary of Capitol Records. Volume one, Birth of a Label, compiles 25 of the earliest sides issued by the label's collective brain trust: songwriters Buddy DeSylva, Johnny Mercer, and record shop proprietor Glenn Wallichs. Although many of these tunes quickly became pop standards, several have never been issued on CD before -- and of those that have previously entered the digital domain, most were transferred from sonically challenged vinyl. Tremendous care has been taken on the From the Vaults series to track down the best possible source materials. The extra effort pays off immeasurably. Capitol's incipient recordings were, as one might imagine, an ideal vehicle for Mercer's dynamic compositions. "Strip Polka," "Trav'lin' Light," and "G.I. Jive" are among his earliest pieces for the label and are included on this volume. However, the label quickly became recognized for the variety of sounds released under their moniker. Some of Capitol's earliest hits were taken from motion picture soundtracks. "My Ideal," "You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To," "Moonlight Becomes You," and the seasonal favorite "White Christmas" are among the baker's dozen of movie songs featured on this release. Other genres to be represented by Capitol ranged from jazz ("Trav'lin' Light") to boogie-woogie ("Cow Cow Boogie"), and even early R&B ("Riffette"). A 10-page liner notes booklet contains memorabilia, vintage photos, and other previously unpublished eye candy, as well as an essay by musician and music historian Billy Vera. Initial pressings -- limited to 10,000 -- are cleverly packaged in a digi-pack designed to replicate the 78 rpm records and sleeves of the era. With such attention to sonic as well as visual detail, Vol. One: Birth of a Label is a promising start to the series. ~ Lindsay Planer

1) Cow Cow Boogie - Ella Mae Morse / Freddie Slack & His Orchestra (03:12)
2) Strip Polka - Johnny Mercer (02:53)
3) I'll Remember April - Gordon Jenkins & His Orchestra / Martha Tilton (03:00)
4) I Don't Know Why - Bobby Sherwood & His Orchestra (02:45)
5) Serenade in Blue - Martha Tilton / Paul Whiteman Orchestra / Paul Whiteman & His Orchestra (03:19)
6) (I Got Spurs That) Jingle, Jangle, Jingle - Tex Ritter & His Texans (02:45)
7) At Last - Connie Haines / Gordon Jenkins & His Orchestra (02:42)
8) Mister Five by Five - Ella Mae Morse / Freddie Slack & His Orchestra (03:00)
9) Trav'lin' Light - Paul Whiteman Orchestra (03:15)
10) There Will Never Be Another You - Bob Carroll / Gordon Jenkins & His Orchestra (03:00)
11) I Lost My Sugar in Salt Lake City - Johnny Mercer / Freddie Slack & His Orchestra (03:08)
12) Moonlight Becomes You - Kitty Kallen / Bobby Sherwood & His Orchestra (02:54)
13) White Christmas - Bob Carroll / Gordon Jenkins & His Orchestra (03:01)
14) That Old Black Magic - Freddie Slack & His Orchestra / Margaret Whiting (02:38)
15) You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To - Gordon Jenkins & His Orchestra / Six Hits and a Miss (02:46)
16) Riffette - Freddie Slack & His Orchestra / T-Bone Walker (03:00)
17) Big Boy - Imogene Lynn / Ray McKinley / Ray McKinley & His Orchestra (03:09)
18) Hard-Hearted Hannah - Ray McKinley & His Orchestra (03:15)
19) Get on Board, Little Chillun - Ella Mae Morse / Freddie Slack & His Orchestra (03:03)
20) My Ideal - Billy Butterfield / Richard A. Whiting / Billy Butterfield & His Orchestra / Margaret Whiting (02:50)
21) From Twilight 'Til Dawn - Ceele Burke / Three Shades Brown / Ceelle Burke & His Orchestra / Three Shades / The Four Dreamers (03:09)
22) The Old Music Master - Johnny Mercer / Jack Teagarden / Paul Whiteman Orchestra / Paul Whiteman & His Orchestra (02:54)
23) All for You - Nat King Cole (03:21)
24) Pistol Packin' Mama - The Pied Pipers / Paul Weston & His Orchestra (02:38)
25) G.I. Jive - Johnny Mercer / Paul Weston & His Orchestra (03:19)

Capitol from the Vaults, Vol. 1: The Birth of a Label 1942-1943
EMI Music Distribution
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Capitol from the Vaults, Vol. 1: The Birth of a Label 1942-1943 | Various Artists