The Soweto Gospel Choir - Blessed [Shanachie 18 Tracks]

Number of Discs
Release Date
The Soweto Gospel Choir
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Shanachie Records


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the DecluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

They may be the best-known exponents of South African gospel, but on this disc the Soweto Gospel Choir move outside their usual boundaries to present a program of both religious and secular music. The choice of songs is interesting, ranging from an abridged "Biko" to the standard "I Bid You Goodnight" and "Mbube" -- better known as "The Lion Sleeps Tonight." That's mixed with plenty of gospel, showcasing the glorious Zulu harmonies, although in a couple of instances the sound veers much closer to American gospel, which seems a shame since their own style is so good. Think of this as a showcase of their range and talents more than anything else. There's plenty of joy and excitement in the singing, as well as the kind of sweetness that can't be taught. While this might be an attempt to win a broader audience outside their homeland (they even do a version of the South African National Anthem), and they do perform the very recognizable secular material well, you have to wonder why they felt it necessary to include it. Still, regardless of the style, there's no denying the fact that they're uplifting. ~ Chris Nickson

1) Shewane (02:38)
2) Medley (03:54)
3) Joko Yahao (04:01)
4) A Place in Heaven (03:18)
5) Nialo (02:14)
6) I Bid You Goodnight (04:04)
7) Lelilungelo Ngelakho (02:32)
8) Oh Happy Day (03:29)
9) Noyana (03:27)
10) Masigiye'bo (02:11)
11) Swing Down (02:12)
12) Weeping (04:39)
13) Thapelo (02:39)
14) Woza Meli Wami (01:51)
15) Mbube (03:30)
16) Tshepa Thapelo (03:33)
17) Khumbaya (03:50)
18) South African National Anthem (02:02)

Blessed [Shanachie 18 Tracks]
E1 Distribution
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Blessed [Shanachie 18 Tracks] | The Soweto Gospel Choir