Hurry, item low in stock!

Barbara Cook - Barbara Cook Sings Mostly Sondheim: Live at Carnegie Hall

Hurry only 1 in stock!
FREE Shipping on All Orders
Number of Discs
Release Date
Barbara Cook
CD / Album
Label / Studio

For a tribute concert commemorating his 70th birthday in 2000, Stephen Sondheim compiled a list of his favorite songs that he didn't write rather than those he did. Barbara Cook used that list in putting together her own concert program in 2001, though, as its title suggests, the song list remained "mostly Sondheim." Cook, who has become increasingly prolific on records since hooking up with DRG in 1993, has previously devoted titles to lyricists Dorothy Fields (Close as Pages in a Book) and Oscar Hammerstein II (Oscar Winners). But as annotator Frank Rich points out, though she and Sondheim scored their first Broadway successes within months of each other in 1957, she in The Music Man, he with the lyrics to West Side Story, she has never seemed a likely Sondheim interpreter. Her sweet, sincere style contrasts with his biting wit and introspection, and she never appeared in one of his shows. But in 1985, she essayed "Losing My Mind" in the concert version of Follies and made the song her own, and here she chooses carefully from the songwriter's repertoire and from his favorites. Songs like "Send in the Clowns" and "Anyone Can Whistle" well suit her approach, and she makes a point of singing the happy-love lyrics only from "Not a Day Goes By." The real finds on the album are her two selections from Passion, "Happiness" and "Loving You," which have not been much heard since the show closed. Among the non-Sondheim material, her Harold Arlen interpretations are stellar. She gives up the stage once in each act to Malcolm Gets, an agreeable singer who also performs duets with her several times, most impressively on "Not While I'm Around." That's the only suggestion that this septuagenarian is getting a little old; you never hear it in her sparkling voice. ~ William Ruhlmann

Disc 1:
1) Everybody Says Don't (from Anyone Can Whistle) - Barbara Cook (04:04)
2) I Wonder What Became of Me? (from St. Louis Woman) - Barbara Cook (04:23)
3) The Eagle and Me (from Bloomer Girl) - Barbara Cook (04:04)
4) I Had Myself a True Love (from St. Louis Woman) - Barbara Cook (04:46)
5) Into the Woods, musical play~Into the Woods / Giants in the Sky - Malcolm Gets / Barbara Cook (06:13)
6) Another Hundred People (from Company) - Malcolm Gets / Barbara Cook (03:56)
7) Let's Face the Music and Dance, song (from "Follow the Fleet") - Barbara Cook / Malcolm Gets (06:02)
8) Passion, musical play~Happiness - Barbara Cook (04:18)
9) Loving You (from Passion) - Barbara Cook (02:14)
10) You Could Drive a Person Crazy (from Company) - Barbara Cook (03:40)
11) Work(s)~Not a Day Goes By (from Merrily We Roll Along) / Losing My Mind (from Follies) - Barbara Cook (06:03)

Disc 2:
1) Buds Won't Bud (from Hooray for What) - Barbara Cook (03:47)
2) I Got Lost in His Arms (from Annie Get Your Gun) - Barbara Cook (03:03)
3) West Side Story, musical~Something's Coming / Tonight - Malcolm Gets / Barbara Cook (05:34)
4) Move On (from Sunday in the Park with George) - Barbara Cook / Malcolm Gets (04:26)
5) Work(s)~San Francisco Medley: Hard Hearted Hannah / Waiting for the Robert E. Lee / San Francisco - Barbara Cook (06:42)
6) Ice Cream (from She Loves Me) - Barbara Cook (04:52)
7) Send In the Clowns (from A Little Night Music) - Barbara Cook (05:28)
8) The Trolley Song (from Meet Me in St. Louis) - Barbara Cook (02:37)
9) Not While I'm Around (from Sweeney Todd) - Barbara Cook / Malcolm Gets (03:27)
10) Anyone Can Whistle (from Anyone Can Whistle) - Barbara Cook (02:49)

Barbara Cook Sings Mostly Sondheim: Live at Carnegie Hall
E1 Distribution
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Barbara Cook Sings Mostly Sondheim: Live at Carnegie Hall | Barbara Cook