2 for 8dollar used

Paul McCartney - Back in the U.S.

Number of Discs
Release Date
Paul McCartney
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Capitol/EMI Records / Capitol

$4.99 | 2 for $8

FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

Another album, another tour, another live album souvenir of the tour. Paul McCartney has essentially followed this pattern since his 1989 return to arenas for the supporting tour for Flowers in the Dirt and each of the records are essentially the same: the big solo hits, some of the big Beatles songs, plus a few tunes from the latest solo album. The repertoire changes slightly over the years, with some Beatles tunes drifting in and out of rotation, but they all play exactly the same -- glossy, professional readings of the songs that you know and love, played in arrangements very close to the original versions. Comprised of highlights from his 2001/2002 tour, the double-disc Back in the U.S. is longer than, say, Paul Is Live, but that's the only difference between this set, or the equally long Tripping the Live Fantastic. If anything, he's playing for the crowd even more than usual, filling out the set list with sentimental favorites, including a version of "Something" as a tribute to the recently parted George Harrison. There is an unflagging sense of showmanship here and the musicianship is top-notch, and there's nothing wrong with the music but there's nothing interesting about it, either. Given the hot streak that he'd been on since 1998's Flaming Pie, it's a bit of a disappointment that this doesn't live up to those standards, but then again, this is no better or no worse than what you'd expect given his live albums since 1989. Unfortunately, it's exactly what you'd expect, which is certainly not as satisfying as a good live album and somehow more disappointing than a flat-out bad album. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Disc 1:
1) Hello Goodbye (03:46)
2) Jet (04:02)
3) All My Loving (02:08)
4) Getting Better (03:10)
5) Coming Up (03:26)
6) Let Me Roll It (04:24)
7) Lonely Road (03:12)
8) Driving Rain (03:11)
9) Your Loving Flame (03:28)
10) Blackbird (02:30)
11) Every Night (02:51)
12) We Can Work It Out (02:29)
13) Mother Nature's Son (02:11)
14) Vanilla Sky (02:29)
15) Carry That Weight (03:05)
16) The Fool on the Hill (03:09)
17) Here Today (02:28)
18) Something (02:33)

Disc 2:
1) Eleanor Rigby (02:17)
2) Here, There and Everywhere (02:26)
3) Band on the Run (05:00)
4) Back in the U.S.S.R. (02:55)
5) Maybe I'm Amazed (04:48)
6) C Moon (03:51)
7) My Love (04:03)
8) Can't Buy Me Love (02:09)
9) Freedom (03:18)
10) Live and Let Die (03:05)
11) Let It Be (03:57)
12) Hey Jude (07:01)
13) The Long and Winding Road (03:30)
14) Lady Madonna (02:21)
15) I Saw Her Standing There (03:08)
16) Yesterday (02:08)
17) Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band/The End (04:39)

Back in the U.S.
EMI Music Distribution
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Back in the U.S. | Paul McCartney