2 for 6 roundel used

Original Motion Picture Soundtrack - Anastasia [Music from the Motion Picture]

Number of Discs
Release Date
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
CD / Album
Label / Studio

$3.99 | 2 for $6

5 in Stock
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

Since Anastasia is animator Don Bluth's attempt at a sweeping epic along the lines of Disney's Beauty and the Beast or The Hunchback of Notre Dame, it's not surprising that its score duplicates the Disney formula of balancing big show tunes from the film with re-recorded MOR pop versions of the same song. In this case, it's Aaliyah singing "Journey to the Past," and Deana Carter's cover of "Once Upon a December," and the Donna Lewis and Richard Marx duet on "At the Beginning" -- fine versions of fine songs that sound better in their original incarnation (also included on the disc). Fortunately, the bulk of the album is comprised of selections from the soundtrack. Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty have written the songs for Anastasia, and their work is generally quite good; occasionally the lyrics are silly ("Rumor in St. Petersburg"), but perhaps that should be expected, given the difficulty of making the story of Anastasia into an animated musical. On the whole, Anastasia might not live up to the high standards that The Little Mermaid and Beauty and the Beast set, but it's as good as Pocahontas and The Hunchback of Notre Dame, and that's not bad company at all. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1) A Rumor in St. Petersburg - Jonathan Dokuchitz / Kelsey Grammer (03:25)
2) Journey to the Past - Liz Callaway (02:55)
3) Once upon a December - Liz Callaway (02:48)
4) In the Dark of the Night - Jim Cummings (03:21)
5) Learn to Do It - Liz Callaway / Jonathan Dokuchitz / Kelsey Grammer (02:36)
6) Learn to Do It - Kelsey Grammer (01:45)
7) Paris Holds the Key (To Your Heart) - Jonathan Dokuchitz / Ensemble / Bernadette Peters (03:02)
8) At the Beginning - Donna Lewis / Richard Marx (03:40)
9) Journey to the Past - Aaliyah (04:04)
10) Once upon a December - Deana Carter (03:34)
11) Prologue - (06:23)
12) Speaking of Sophie - (02:36)
13) The Nightmare - (03:05)
14) Kidnap and Reunion - Liz Callaway / Angela Lansbury (04:29)
15) Reminiscing with Grandma - (03:17)
16) Finale - (02:59)
17) Viaje Tiempo Atrás (Journey to the Past) - Thalía (03:07)

Anastasia [Music from the Motion Picture]
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Anastasia [Music from the Motion Picture] | Original Motion Picture Soundtrack