Soundgarden - A-Sides

Number of Discs
Release Date
CD / Album
Label / Studio


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the DecluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

For an act that was one of the definitive album artists of the late '80s and '90s, Soundgarden was a surprisingly effective singles band. Their singles effectively conveyed all of their best ideas, from their sludgy early Sub Pop recordings to the elaborate, post-metal psychedelia of their last two albums, Superunknown and Down on the Upside. That's the reason why the 17-track compilation A-Sides is such a successful overview of the band's too-brief career. Most of their peers wouldn't be well represented by a compilation that concentrated solely on singles, but Soundgarden are, because their singles do capture what they're all about. There are many great songs left off A-Sides, from "Big Dumb Sex" to "My Wave," but it's hard to argue with what's here. Each single from every album -- from the 1987 debut EP Screaming Life through SST's Ultramega OK, to their four records for A&M -- is here, with the Down on the Upside outtake "Bleed Together" added as an enticement for collectors. Almost every one of the group's best-known songs are here, including "Hands All Over," "Loud Love," "Jesus Christ Pose," "Outshined," "Rusty Cage," "Black Hole Sun," "The Day I Tried to Live," "Spoonman," "Fell on Black Days," "Pretty Noose," "Burden in My Hand," and "Blow Up the Outside World," resulting in a near-definitive summary of one of the most important and influential bands of the '90s. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1) Nothing to Say (03:58)
2) Flower (03:28)
3) Loud Love (04:57)
4) Hands All Over (06:02)
5) Get on the Snake (03:45)
6) Jesus Christ Pose (05:52)
7) Outshined (05:12)
8) Rusty Cage (04:27)
9) Spoonman (04:08)
10) The Day I Tried to Live (05:21)
11) Black Hole Sun (05:20)
12) Fell on Black Days (04:42)
13) Pretty Noose (04:13)
14) Burden in My Hand (04:52)
15) Blow Up the Outside World (05:47)
16) Ty Cobb (03:08)
17) Bleed Together (03:51)

Universal Distribution
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
A-Sides | Soundgarden