Hank Williams - 40 Greatest Hits

Number of Discs
Release Date
Hank Williams
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Polydor / Mercury


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the DecluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

Hank Williams' body of work is so large and has been repackaged so many times in so many forms that the notion of creating a definitive compilation almost seems like an impossible goal. However, as a one-stop shopping place for Hank's basic repertoire, 40 Greatest Hits is as good as it gets. While it doesn't include everything, practically every memorable hit is here, and thankfully every cut appears in its original form (that means in mono, with no string overdubs or artificial duets with his family members). The track sequence subtly reflects the arc of Williams' short but vitally important career, and there's enough good music and great songs here to make a fan of anyone with even a passing interest in American music. If you care about country music, you need some Hank Williams in your collection, and there isn't a better introduction to his rich body of work on the market than 40 Greatest Hits; begin here, then start exploring. ~ Mark Deming

Disc 1:
1) Move It on Over (02:43)
2) A Mansion on the Hill (02:33)
3) Lovesick Blues (02:42)
4) Wedding Bells (02:53)
5) Mind Your Own Business (02:53)
6) You're Gonna Change (Or I'm Gonna Leave) (02:55)
7) Lost Highway (02:40)
8) My Bucket's Got a Hole in It (02:31)
9) I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry (02:45)
10) I Just Don't Like This Kind of Livin' (02:46)
11) Long Gone Lonesome Blues (02:36)
12) My Son Calls Another Man Daddy (02:32)
13) Why Don't You Love Me (Like You Used to Do)? (02:22)
14) Why Should We Try Anymore (02:36)
15) They'll Never Take Her Love from Me (02:47)
16) Moanin' the Blues (02:25)
17) Nobody's Lonesome for Me (02:30)
18) Cold, Cold Heart (02:45)
19) Dear John (02:35)
20) Howlin' at the Moon (02:41)

Disc 2:
1) I Can't Help It (If I'm Still in Love With You) (02:25)
2) Hey, Good Lookin' (02:55)
3) Crazy Heart (02:29)
4) (I Heard That) Lonesome Whistle (02:28)
5) Baby, We're Really in Love (02:34)
6) Ramblin' Man (03:04)
7) Honky Tonk Blues (02:12)
8) I'm Sorry for You, My Friend (02:43)
9) Half as Much (02:44)
10) Jambalaya (On the Bayou) (02:54)
11) Window Shopping (02:33)
12) Settin' the Woods on Fire (02:38)
13) You Win Again (02:37)
14) I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive (02:27)
15) Kaw-Liga (02:35)
16) Your Cheatin' Heart (02:43)
17) Take These Chains from My Heart (02:40)
18) I Won't Be Home No More (02:45)
19) Weary Blues from Waitin' (02:38)
20) I Saw the Light (02:43)

40 Greatest Hits
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
40 Greatest Hits | Hank Williams