Acceptdecluttr uses cookies on this site. Some of the cookies used are essential for parts of the site to work. Learn more about cookies here.



Apple devices, including iPhones, iPads, iPods, MacBooks and iMacs, are automatically locked to your iCloud account because of Apple's 'Activation Lock' feature. 

As we cannot accept any device locked to an iCloud account, you need to remove your account before selling your device.

It's easy to remove your iCloud account from your device. You can remove it at either or by using the device itself. 

Simply follow the steps below to remove your account...

Removing iCloud from your iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch

Follow these steps to remove iCloud using your iOS device:
Please back up your device before attempting to remove iCloud (click here to find out more)

Tap Settings
Tap General (1)
Tap Reset (2)
Tap Erase All Content and Settings (3)

You will be asked to enter your Apple ID (the same one you use on the App Store).

Don’t delete data manually when signed into iCloud as it will remove the content your iCloud account permanently.


Follow these steps to remove iCloud from your account using

Switch your device off. 

Log into with your Apple ID. 

Click 'Find My iPhone'

You should see a drop down menu labelled ‘All Devices’ at the top of the screen. Select your device from this menu. Your device should appear as ‘Offline’. 

Please note: Your device won’t appear as ‘Offline’ on if it isn't switched off. You'll have to wait a couple of minutes after switching off your device for it to appear as ‘Offline’.


Click the ‘Remove from Account’ option (2) 
Click ‘Remove’ on the confirmation message.